feed the senses

Florida Water.  Its scent is like nothing else.  And it helps me reach my place of stillness.

Have you ever walked into a home and someone was cooking – say baking bread or a pie and your memory instantly transports you a specific time or a place?  A particular scent can be a powerful with memory recall.  For me, Florida Water has no particular memory.  I am transported no where.  The scent is linked to nothing.  But it is pure.  It is basic.  It is simple.  From there, it helps me reach my place of stillness.  I do not use it regularly, but perhaps I should.  My first memory of it was during ritual and during that circle, I was able to scry and see more than I ever had.  Like a part of my mind had been opened… wide.  And while I can remember that vividly, each time I use it my experience though similar, is always new.

Here’s a little history:
Florida Water was first introduced in the United States in 1808. With a base ingredient of alcohol, Florida Water contains a blend of dissolved essential oils, including lemon oil, orange oil and lavender oil. Sold in general stores and pharmacies, it was instantly lauded for its many uses. Men and women alike benefited from the refreshing properties it possessed. Said to cure a headache, soothe a fever and scent a home, the benefits of Florida Water were hailed by all. Its strong magical properties have made it a staple in Hoodoo, Voodoo, Santeria and Wicca practices.

Want to make your own Florida Water?  Here’s a recipe:
16 oz. distilled water
2 oz. alcohol (vodka 100 proof)
6 drops rose oil
6 drops bergamot essential oil
6 drops lavender essential oil
2 drops clove essential oil
1/2 cup lemon/rind
1/2 cup lime/rind
4 cloves

optional:
Ylang-ylang
Neroli
Mint
Cinnamon
Jasmine
Sweet Orange
Vervain

Put the juices in a jar, chop up lemon and lime rind and add into the jar. Add the cloves and any herbs then finish by pouring over the alcohol. Put a lid on the jar or bottle and leave it in a dark place for three to four weeks. Strain the liquid into a clean bottle/jar.

Leave a Reply

